How I became Sai Baba devotee

How I became Sai Baba devoteeAfter my retirement from the post of Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa in February 2008, I along with my wife settled to stay with my son working in Gurgaon, Haryana (N.C.R.Delhi).After 6 months being devoid of rendering public service at the new place of settlement, I went back to my old place of work at Bargarh Orissa to serve the public in private capacity. At Bargarh I served as an honorary physician in Saikripa Hospital from 19.08.2008 to 11.09.2008.However due to my ill health in old age I came back to Gurgaon to stay with family. The honorary service at Saikripa Hospital initiated the spiritual inspiration of Sai Baba in me knowingly or unknowingly by the time I came back to Gurgaon.On returning to Gurgaon, I got attracted to see the Sai Baba T.V.serial in Hindi telecast daily in evening.

One night I dreamt Sai Baba was calling me to meet him in Sai Dham somewhere nearby located. On 14th October 2008 I searched & located the nearby Sai Dham at Sohna Road Gurgaon within 1k.m.distance from our residence. I had a mental & spiritual desire to accept some one as my Guru to guide me in the twilight phase of life. When I attended the evening Arati at Sai Dham in the assembly of devotees enjoying the Sai nam &bhajan, I took the Sankalpa that I will accept the discipleship of Sadguru Sai Baba.After the arati was over, I deposited my Guru Dakhina as donation to the corpus fund of the trust managing Sai Dham, bought one photo of Sai Baba for Guru puja at home, audio cassettes of Sai Baba bhajan for listening & books depicting Sai Baba`s leela for reading. Then I started to attend arati & bhajan gatherings at Sai Dham regularly. I learnt “Shraddha &Saburi” to be the core value of Sai Baba`s philosophy of life.

In Nov 2008, in response to a casual mail sent by me relating my involvement in spiritual life attending Sai Dham at Gurgaon,Tapas Kumar Mohanty,a Sai Baba devotee (such fact previously not known to me)working under me while I was C.D.M.O.Bargarh as Data Asst.(N.R.H.M.) now working as State Data Officer,N.R.H.M.Orissa at Bhubaneswar sent the photograph of Shirdi Sai Baba used as screen saver of desktop of my P.C.,bhajan album of Sai Baba saved & used as devotional songs in the P.C.He also sent rare photos of Sai Baba`s life time.

After relocating to Bangalore in April 2009 with my son due to his change of job, I located the nearby Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram, BTM Layout Bangalore situated within 1k.m.distance from our residence. Here I developed the charity of monthly donation towards Annadan (one of the priorities of Sai Baba`s humanity) through Sri Sadguru Sainath Seva Samithi (R) managing the Ashram and giving Dakhina to Sai Baba through corpus fund whenever I go to attend arati & darshan of Sai Baba in the Ashram. To gain more knowledge about Sai Baba`s activities & philosophy of life, I have procured & read the books “Shri Sai Satcharita”,”Thus Spake Sri Shirdi Sai Baba”,”Shri Sai Baba`s Teaching & Philosophy”&”The Spiritual philosophy of Sri Shirdi Sai Baba”in 2009-10.

I am now living the spiritual life with the prayer:

“Ananta Koti Brahmanda Nayaka Rajadhiraja Yogiraja Parabrahma Shri Satchidananda Samartha  Sadguru   Sainath Maharaj Ki Jaya.”

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda
Sai Baba devotee, Bangalore

About drmcpanda

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Qualification:M.B.B.S.,M.D. Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to How I became Sai Baba devotee

  1. Pingback: Arati of Shirdi Sai in Dham, Mandir and Ashrams | Yoga and Spirituality

  2. Santhosh says:

    Very nice experience :). Om Sai Ram.

    “Anantha Koti, Brahmaanda Naayaka, Raajadhi Raaja, Yogi Raaja, Parabrahma, Shree Satchidhaananda Sarva Samarthas Sadhguru Shree, SaiNath Maharaaj Ki Jai”

  3. Devotion is the best state of mind for elderly.

  4. It is a great pleasure on my part to inform the readers and viewers that the article How I became Sai Baba Devotee-Sai Devotee Dr.Mahesh has been published in Devotees Experiences with Shirdi Sai Baba.

    • Sujatha A says:

      HI SAI BROTHER Dr.Mahesh,

      I read ur shirdisaibaba experience in Devotees Experiences with Shirdi Sai Baba( hetal ji’s website).thanks alot for writing…i read where u served after retirement…thanks alot sir…but due to ill health u dropped it…hope u r doing good with very good health…and u had friendship with another sai devotee where u got to know abt various sai bhajans and photos…hope ur son is taking care in ur old age…thank u….have a good time…take care..k.sujatha

  5. It is a great pleasure on my part to inform the readers and viewers that the article How I became Sai Baba Devotee authored by me has been published in Shri Sai Sumiran Times New Delhi; internationally circulated printed monthly magazine both in Hindi and English medium on Shirdi Sai; in its Year No.6 Month No.6 March 2011 issue in English Section.

  6. Pingback: Effect of Yoga and Spirituality on Creativity | Yoga and Spirituality

  7. Dr.Binod Bihari Naik says:

    Respected Sir,
    I was heartened to be enlightened about your spiritual entrance and evinced your successful journey and achievement of devotional path.Really you are graced and blessed by Sai Baba; otherwise you would not have been able to open the sense and emotion to others to follow the same. Your entry to this path is eye opener to many devotees who resort to Vanaprastha.

    Days never go; still I remember and follow your timely guidance and never erased it from my mind. I observed and felt your hardship of Grihastha life stage that how you made it simple & light even in critical situations and tackled much odd situations in personal life and govt.service.In that context, I imagined and grasped your Brahmacharya life might have been completed decisively, conceptually, mutually and more successfully as it is in stream line today in Vanaprastha.

    I pray Almighty for your progress to step up to next stage that is Sanyasa. Let you live long with healthy body and sound mind to accomplish the task of ‘Sai Mission’ with dictum as follows:
    Love All, Serve All
    Help Ever, Hurt Never

    With regards
    Yours sincerely,
    Dr.B.B.Naik
    Bargarh Odisha

  8. Parikshita Sahu says:

    very nice experience
    Om Sai Ram
    Om Sai Ram
    Om Sai Ram
    Om Sai Ram
    Om Sai Ram
    Om Sai Ram
    Om Sai Ram
    ………….

  9. Ramachandran N says:

    I am very much interested to talk to you to give Baba`s padukkas coming from Shirdi.

  10. It has been five years as on October 14, 2013 since I became Sai Baba devotee on October 14, 2008. During these 5 years I had Darshan of Shirdi Sai Baba in Gurgaon Haryana (N.C.R. Delhi), Bangalore, Bhubaneswar & Bargarh in Orissa, Shirdi Dist. Ahmednagar Maharashtra in India and New York, USA.

  11. Om Sri Sai Ram!

    Thanks for a great article. A very good experience.

    I wish you health and your family. My heartfelt love to you and your family. Glad to get acquainted with a Sai devotee. Very happy to have such a friend.

    Jai Jai Sai Ram!

  12. Reena Sharma says:

    Very NYC uncle. I cm to knw about baba also in TV serial.

  13. Kedarnath Sahu says:

    Respected Sir,

    I visited Saikripa Hospital, Bargarh which is described in your article on March 15, 2015 to see one of my relatives being treated there. I recollected your initiation of Sai spirituality having served here for a brief period as honorary physician after retirement from Govt Service.

    Kedarnath Sahu
    Sohela, Bargarh Odisha

  14. It has been 7 years as on October 14, 2015 since I became Sai Baba devotee on October 14, 2008. During these 7 years I had Darshan of Shirdi Sai Baba in Gurgaon Haryana (N.C.R. Delhi), Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Bargarh & Padampur Dist. Bargarh in Orissa, Shirdi Dist. Ahmednagar Maharashtra in India and New York, USA. I had my latest Darshan of Shri Sai in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore on September 27, 2015 during convalescence period of my illness. You may read my article on Sai Darshan during Convalescence Period of Illness published on October 1, 2015 in Yoga and Spirituality.

  15. Dhandapani Muthuswamy says:

    Immencing _ dream, temple just one k.m. near your residence. If u are 100% in devotion Divine comes nearer to the devotee. It is proved in your career. These type of experiences rarely happen to few people and it proved that u are a true devotee.

  16. Purnima Panda says:

    Pranam kaka,

    After reading ur article I think God has already fixed who will be the disciple of whom and choosen some persons to be blessed, I think you are the blessed one. Sai Baba has choosen u to became a devotee of him, So u are the luckiest person to have a Sadguru like Sai Baba.

  17. I was not able to attend Guru Poornima celebration at Shirdi Sai Baba BTM Ashram Bangalore due to my physical indisposition. I have published the message & photo so motto sent by Santhosh my Shirdi Sai devotee-friend at Bangalore in blog website of Yoga and Spirituality as response comment on the article Sadguru Sai Baba.

    Shirdi Sai BTM Ashram Bangalore Guru Poornima 2016

  18. V Chandra Sekhar says:

    Namaste Dr.Pandaji,

    Heartening to read that your brief tenure in Saikripa hospital in Bargarh has gone a long way in changing the course of your post-retirement life& played a major part in your becoming an ardent devotee of Sai Baba.

  19. 98th Maha Samadhi Day of Sri Shirdi Sai Baba is being observed in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore on October 11, 2016(Dasara). I had Darshan of Shri Sai Baba and donated funds towards Annadhana provided to poor, needy persons and devotees on the occasion in addition to donation of funds towards Ashram and Charitable Medical & Dental Clinic Management.

    Maha Samadhi Divas of Shirdi Sai BTM Layout Ashram 2016

    I have published the event on observance of 98th Maha Samadhi Day on October 11, 2016(Dasara) in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore in blog website of Yoga and Spirituality as response comment on the article Maha Samadhi Divas of Shirdi Sai.

  20. It has been 8 years as on October 14, 2016 since I became Sai Baba devotee on October 14, 2008. During these 8 years I had Darshan of Shirdi Sai Baba in Gurgaon Haryana (N.C.R. Delhi), Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Bargarh & Padampur Dist. Bargarh in Orissa, Shirdi Dist. Ahmednagar Maharashtra in India and New York, USA. I had my latest Darshan of Shri Sai in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore on occasion of 98th Maha Samadhi Divas of Shirdi Sai observed on October 11, 2016 (Dasara). You may read my article and responses on Spiritual Journey as Shirdi Sai devotee published in blog website of Yoga and Spirituality.

Leave a Reply

