Vacation trip to Orissa

I had a vacation trip to my native state Orissa from July 17 to 24, 2010 in the recent past.
On July 17 at 8 A.M., I left BTM Layout Bangalore in BIAL bus services for boarding my flight to Bhubaneswar from Bangalore International Airport. It almost took one and half hour to reach the airport located 50 K.M.away due to traffic congestion. The flight from Bangalore took off at 11 A.M.and landed in Biju Pattanaik Airport, Bhubaneswar at 1 P.M. after 2 hours. I was received at the airport by my nephew Rajesh and my friend Dr.K.C.Sith, Retd.Joint Director of Health Services (Medical) Orissa. I attended evening arati in Sai Baba Mandir, Tankapani Road Bhubaneswar along with Sri T. K. Mohanty, Program Associate NIPI-UNOPS Mission Directorate NRHM Orissa who is a Shirdi Sai devotee having firm faith in Sai Spirituality. I stayed at Govt.Quarters of my nephew; who is working in the Directorate of Family Welfare Orissa Bhubaneswar.I was happy to observe my niece-in-law Puspa regaining her normal body weight,shape and structure by reducing post natal obesity through Yoga practices. Appreciating her efforts, I gifted her  a booklet containing the hard copies of my articles published in ‘Yoga and Spirituality’.
On 18th noon, I visited the house of Sri  V. N. Rao Zonal Coordinator (Lepra) Orissa; who was working as Project Officer Lepra Society Bargarh during my service tenure as Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh. In the afternoon, Dr.K.C.Sith had a friendly visit to my nephew`s residence and during the interaction I gifted him a booklet of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’. I halted that night in Bhubaneswar.
On 19th at 6 A.M., I left my nephew`s residence for Bargarh by train and arrived in Bargarh at 1 P.M. My old colleagues Sri M.S.Mahunta, Retd.Block Extension Educator Community Health Centre Sohela Bargarh and Sri B.B.Suar, Retd.Health Supervisor Bargarh received me at the railway station. Then the rest of the journey was by road. The booklets of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’ were gifted to both of them. I also gave a booklet of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’ to Sri G.S.Pradhan for reading by staff of Office of The Chief District Medical Officer, Bargarh. I attended evening arati in Sai Baba Mandir, Hatapada Bargarh along with Miss S.Das, L.H.V.M.C.W.C.Bargarh who is a Shirdi Sai devotee. I gave her a booklet of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’. I halted at Sri Mahunta`s own house in Sohela on that day. At night I handed over Shirdi Sai Baba`s photo and udi (bibhuti) procured from Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram, BTM Lay out Bangalore to Sri Mahunta.
On 20 th, I had a courtesy meet with my 85 years old father-in-law staying with my brother-in-law Sudhir in Godbhaga on N.H.6 Bargarh-Sambalpur road.A booklet of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’ was given there as they can not access to internet at their place. I returned to Sohela at night and halted.
On 21st, I proceeded to Patara Dam in Nuapada District for sightseeing with Sri Mahunta. There we had a darshan of Lord Shiva in the Shiva temple, enjoyed the nature in Rajiv Park and Dam site. On return journey we had a brief stay at residence of my younger brother Ganesh at Nuapada. I gifted a booklet of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’ to my brother. My brother`s cousin R. K. Sharma working in NIC Nuapada met me there. Being a Shirdi Sai devotee, he later on sent me Sai Baba`s photo for my blog getting spiritual inspiration by reading my articles on Sai Baba. On that day I made night-halt in Padampur Dist. Bargarh at my youngest brother Umesh`s own house.
On 22 nd morning, I gifted a booklet of ‘Yoga and Spirituality’ to my brother Umesh. I met my old colleagues Sri L.A.Khan working as X-ray Technician and Sri  H.B.Nayak,Retd.Laboratory Technician Sub-Divisional Hospital Padampur. On the request of Sri M.S. Mahunta accompanying me and Sri H.B.Nayak: both retired colleagues who are elderly persons having diabetics and arthritis related health problems; I conducted a demonstration class of Yoga practices (asanas and pranayama) for 30 minutes and encouraged them to practice Yoga. In the noon I visited my oldest and poorest friend Sri K.C.Panigrahi`s house .People in Padampur area term our relationship as Krishna-Sudama friendship. I handed over Shirdi Sai Baba`s photo and udi (bibhuti) brought from Bangalore to Sri Panigrahi.In evening, I visited my own house ‘Sailashree’ located in Shanti Nagar,Padampur;leased to a noble  family  for residential  accomodation.I halted at my youngest brother`s house in Padampur at night.
On 23 rd at 8 A.M., I left Padampur for Bhubaneswar via Bargarh.In Bargarh, I visited the house of my old colleague Sri C. K.Panda working in District Family Welfare Bureau Bargarh .I left Bargarh in afternoon by train and arrived Bhubaneswar at 10 P.M.I made night-halt at my nephew`s residence and discussed different articles published in my blog ‘Yoga and Spirituality’.
On July 24 th I bought Chhena Poda: a milk product and the unique sweet dish offered to Lord Jagannath, the principal deity of Orissa before leaving Bhubaneswar. I reached Bangalore at 4 P.M.by flight and finally arrived Bangalore home at 5.30 P.M.
Throughout my trip, I spread the message of Yoga and Spirituality. I felt: People may forget what you said, people may forget what you did; but, People will never forget, how you made them feel.
Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda
BTM Lay out Bangalore

About drmcpanda

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Qualification:M.B.B.S.,M.D. Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vacation trip to Orissa

  1. While reading your article you metamorphosed me into many personalities.

    The devotee in me says that “Thank you Dr.Panda for such a service to friends and relatives”.You guided them to devotion, yoga and spirituality.Post partum recouping through yoga is another good application.Distributing hard copies of your experience and writings to everybody will motivate and keep them on spirituality side.It is a great spirit to nurture good values.That is how we keep our culture alive and plant good values in society and our next generation.That is ultimate antidote to western culture.

    Snigdha in me says “Dadu! I want to play and dance, No yoga lessons please”.
    Kavita in me says “Rejuvenate Doc! Get out of your office. Writing is official and not blogy. We are interested in chilies and spice. The recipe is bland”.
    I hope you don’t mind the three in one in me.

    Thanks for sharing .
    Have a great yoga.
    Dr. Madan Goyal

  2. V.Nageswara Rao says:

    Dr. Mahesh Chandra Panda’s article on Vacation Trip to Orissa is very much interesting for his unforgetable nature to meet with old friends, native place and relatives.

    Regarding his Visit to Bhubaneswar and the valuable time he spent with me was really unforgetable and heart touching, it’s mainly because of a noble person like him visited my residence, even after 2 years of his retirement and most importantly on that day of his visit to my residence, we observed my father’s death anniversary and I am very much happy and lucky to get a chance to have a Brahmin Bhojan (Lunch) with him on this auspicious occasion.

    We also had a very good discussion and remembered our past experiences and the way we worked together to solve many public health problems.Most importantly he explained the details of techniques and benefits of Yoga and Spirituality to lead a healthy life to one of my nearest relative Mr. B.T. Raju and his family, who is working as a Senior Manager ( Mechanical) in VISA Steel, Kalinga Nagar, Jajpur District of Orissa.

    Hope to read many more interesting, useful and realistic articles written by most respected Dr. Mahesh Chandra Panda.

  3. Satya says:

    Dear Doctor,

    Its really wonderful to see how you are expanding your joy through yoga.

    Hari OM,
    Satya

  4. Pingback: Arati of Shirdi Sai in Dham, Mandir and Ashrams | Yoga and Spirituality

  5. Pingback: Arati of Shirdi Sai in Dham, Mandir and Ashrams « Sai Shraddha

  6. I have got an opportunity to meet with you after a long period, when I was working as Block Accountant under your authority at Bargarh.

    I was amazed that, you have got the same punctuality as it was.It came to notice when I had made some delay for arranging mode of transport to Sai Baba’s Temple situated at Tankapani Road, Bhubaneswar.We had a plan to have a Darshan of Shandhya Arati there.It was the blessing of Sai Baba that we had managed to arrive there on time by 6.15 PM.I was thinking that, the Arati time is 6 ‘O’ clock, but the Scheduled time is 6.30 PM.You have cleared me that in Eastern Region this is the scheduled time & in Western region it is 6.15 PM & so on by day light saving time.I had read the Arati book kept & it was a pleasure to have with you, although the language was Marathi & the script was in Hindi.

    You have enlightened me about the difference between a Guru & God.
    In most of the Sai Baba Mandirs, we worship HIM as God along & we treat with other Gods & Goddesses.

    I was not able to get the option to proceed to Bargarh to visit Sai Baba’s Mandir there, ‘cuz of the working day.I will be desperately looking forward for your next visit where we can have a plan to go our home at Bargarh & have a Darshan at Sai Baba Mandir there.

  7. Pingback: Review of literature relating to Yoga and Spirituality in my recent trip to Orissa | Yoga and Spirituality

  8. Dhandapani Muthuswamy says:

    DrPandaJi. Liked reading article on your vacation trip. Nice Experience. Ultimate goal of life is service. U have done it.

  9. Sweet Memorial: I had a vacation trip to my native state Orissa from July 17 to 24, 2010. On 22 nd in evening, I visited my own house ‘Sailashree’ located in Shanti Nagar, Padampur leased to a noble family for residential accommodation. You may read my article and responses in details to enjoy glimpses on Vacation trip to Orissa.

    Our own house ‘Sailashree’ Dr Panda`s Lane Shanti Nagar, Bheunria Road Padampur Dist. Bargarh Odisha leased to a noble family for residential accommodation.

    Area surrounding our house ‘Sailashree’ in Shanti Nagar, Bheunria Road in N.A.C. Padampur Dist. Bargarh Odisha has been named as Dr Panda`s gali.

Leave a Reply

