Yoga and Spirituality: The Focus of Discussion in Orissa Trip

I had my recent trip to Orissa from November 12, 2011 to November 20, 2011.During the trip I visited Bhubaneswar, the capital city of Orissa and Bargarh district of Orissa.

I stayed in the residence of my nephew Rajesh and had interactive discussion about Yoga and Spirituality with my old colleagues Dr.K.C.Sith, Sri V.N.Rao and Sri T.K.Mohanty in Bhubaneswar. I had also the pleasure to discuss the responses posted in Yoga and Spirituality by my tech-savvy nephew Ashirbad, niece Madhusmita & Niharika and grandson Satyajit in my nephew`s residence. I had interaction with my old colleagues Dr.B.B.Naik and Sri B.B.Suar at Bargarh and demonstrated them how they can access the prime articles of the blog through the links from about page of Yoga and Spirituality. While visiting office of the Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh, I interacted with Sri G.S.Pradhan, Sri J.Samal and Sri C.K.Panda as to how they enjoy reading my articles published in Yoga and Spirituality. I had my stay in the residence of my old colleague Sri M.S.Mahunta at Sohela Bargarh. At Sohela I had interaction with Sri M.S.Mahunta and Sri K.N.Sahu both comment authors of Yoga and Spirituality. I paid a courtesy visit to my old father-in-law staying at Godbhaga Bargarh. I had my pilgrimage to Nrusinghanath on November 16, 2011 during the trip. I stayed in residence of my younger brother Umesh at Padampur Bargarh. There I took the pleasure of interaction with my tech-savvy nephew Nikhilesh relating to the comment posted by him on the article of Yoga and Spirituality. I visited my oldest and poorest friend Sri K.C.Panigrahi at Padampur. During the visit of Sub-Divisional Hospital Padampur, I had interaction with Sri P.K.Bhoi and Sri L.A.Khan and explained how readers are using search engine terms and reading the articles of Yoga and Spirituality.

In the interaction about yoga, I explained that practicing yoga in group sessions under a yoga instructor in a well-organized institute or centre under an able and qualified yoga instructor or director do have many advantages. One can develop enthusiasm for well-coordinated yoga exercises in attending group sessions conducted at yoga centre. One can rectify incorrect posture, practices and learn new techniques of yoga practices. I stressed during my discussion that one should practice swadhyaya of yoga after at least six months practice of yoga in a recognized yoga centre to get optimum benefit by yoga practice. My old colleagues who are doctors, paramedical persons and yoga practitioners very much appreciated the articles on therapeutic yoga published in Yoga and Spirituality.

In the interaction about spirituality, I told that to develop my spiritual vision and thought process, besides reading scriptures and texts depicting wonderful life and teachings of Shirdi Sai Baba relating to Sai Spirituality; I am reading spiritual articles and other books relating to theory and practice of spiritual life. Reading spiritual scriptures and texts, devoting time every day for spiritual practices and expressing my feelings and thoughts in writing through my articles on spirituality; I have developed nishtha in spirituality. My old colleagues, many of whom are Shirdi Sai devotees appreciated my endeavour to spread the message of Sai spirituality through my articles on Shirdi Sai published in Yoga and Spirituality.

The readers, viewers and comment authors of my blog Yoga and Spirituality from Orissa specifically expressed their appreciation and involvement in forum of discussion on articles describing my public and professional life, guardian and counselling in higher education, achievement in social service and vacation trips to Orissa.

On the whole, ‘Yoga and Spirituality’ was the focus of discussion during my interaction with the relatives and friends whom I met in the recent Orissa trip.

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda
Bangalore

About drmcpanda

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Qualification:M.B.B.S.,M.D. Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yoga and Spirituality: The Focus of Discussion in Orissa Trip

  1. Vinod Varma says:

    Culture and heritage of mankind is a legacy that every one of us needs to nurture, enrich own life and that of others.

    Hats off to your great initiative.

  2. Tapas says:

    It was an enormous pleasure & fortune for us to welcome you. But this time I have made everything in time. Panda Sir is very particular in his discussions.. with regards to timings of 5H, I mean to say he better knows what, how, to whom & which time..how much time.. In other words you are a complete package who encapsulates every tit and bit.

    It’s good to hear that, after retirement you have also made some engagements in different time slots of a day. It’s not a good idea to sit with no work , because empty mind may degrade the physical & mental health condition – yoga ‘N’ spirituality is only the one option left…not only for the retired persons but also for us. Since we are living in a nerve-racking life, where everyone has got their own personalized rush towards money- we should follow the path of yoga and spirituality. At the end of the day or at the end of our life; we may not be able to imagine how the time has passed on .. and we have been doing nothing for our inherent peace.

    It’s the right time to think, likewise.

    // Om Sai Ram //

  3. Satya says:

    Dear Doctor, the task you undertook has brought awareness in so many life, It has helped people to reconnect to world with compassion. This is Sadbhavana Dharana – A Goodwill Meditation in Action. Please keep spreading your positive energy, like a glowing white light, making others feel enthusiastic about life and tasks.

  4. V.Nageswara Rao says:

    Dear Sir,
    Namaskar.

    This article very clearly mentions the Love and Affection you have with Odisha and also your Native District Bargarh and the Native Place Padampur and Native Village Gaisilat. It is also very clear that the relation and affection you are maintaining with your Old Colleagues, Friends, and Relatives and also with the GOD Nrusinghanath of Paikmal; which is very much appreciable.

    Very Nicely you have mentioned each and every point of discussion you had with me and all of whom you have met during your last visit to Odisha and Bargarh.

    People need to learn from you that, in whatever profession they might be and also in their busy life; One should not forget the Born Place, District, State, the Colleagues, Friends and Relatives with whom they come across from their childhood known both personally and professionally. It is very difficult to maintain that relation like you for anybody.

    Very Nice and Learningful Article,

    With Regards,
    V.Nageswar Rao

  5. Prakash Padhan says:

    Dear Sir,
    Thank you for sharing your visit incidents and spreading Yoga n Spirituality.

    “Janani janmabhumischa swargadapi gariyasi”.Really maa,janmabhumi & mothers’ tongue sweeter & greater than heaven.

    Irrespective of age group,irrespective of economic status you met each and every body including your ‘Sudama” friend at Padampur.You must have been happy to visit your own place with recalling the sweet memories.

    You have rightly said-our ultimate destination is Yoga.Lord Shiva says to Parvati-“Bina yoge na deva api muktim lavate priye”.

    With high regards,
    Prakash
    Varanasi

  6. You are working like a true devotee and working for this blog very sincerely.

    Motivation and spread of knowledge will benefit society tremendously.

    Well done and keep it up.

  7. Chandra Kumar Panda says:

    Om Sri Sainathaya Namah.

    The article on your visit to Odisha and conversation with kith and kin, friends, colleagues, other related people not only memorizes the days of living & enjoying in the atmosphere of the native land where you are brought up from the childhood; but also at the same time bridges up the gap.

    I thank you from the core of my heart that whenever you are visiting your Native State Odisha, you are trying your level best to convince and propagate the cult of Sai-ism among the devotees.I am quite unlucky that I could not meet you during the last days of your staying at Bargarh,however it is the mercy of Sri Sai by which my family could receive the Shri Sai Satcharita book gifted by you which is in English edition.I have already mentioned in my previous reply that wherever our work may concern but mind and spirit should be at the foot step of the Almighty by which we can realise some Sarthakata and you yourself have prooved it.

    Yours Sincerely
    Chandra Kumar Panda

  8. Pradip Kumar Bhoi says:

    Dear Sir,
    Thank you for sharing your visit note and spreading message of Yoga & Spirituality during your visit to Odisha. Really I am very very happy to read your publication, especially your comment on interaction with staff of Sub-Divisional Hospital Padampur.

    Thank You Sir once again.
    With regards,
    Pradip Kumar Bhoi

  9. Madhusudan Mahunta says:

    Dear Sir,
    Namaskar.

    After reading your article I am very happy that you are the only retired person who is enjoying the right path of life by the blessing of Sri Shirdi Sai Baba.It is true that your article shows the real attraction towrds your motherland, friends, colleagues and relatives. Sir, this lifestyle adopted by you is really the beauty of our Indian Culture.

    I am surprised to see your work relating to the blog Yoga and Spirituality as it reminds me my past exprience in the office of the C.D.M.O. Bargarh as incharge M.E.I.O. working with you. In your article you have reviewed nicely the exprience enjoyed by you and interaction with us at Sohela. Really it is the only blessing of Sri Shirdi Sai Baba.

    OM SAI RAM.
    Madhusudan Mahunta
    Retd.B.E.E.,C.H.C.Sohela
    Dist.Bargarh Odisha

  10. Ashirbad Purohit says:

    pranam mamu
    it was pleasure talking with u.

    i really loved & admired ur role as a career counsellor. we earned a lot of momentum by pocketing ur valuable suggestion & experience.

    jai sai

  11. Kedarnath Sahu says:

    Sir
    Om Sai Ram
    Namaskar.

    At first I may be excused for this late comment. Sir, due to some domestic problem I was unable to write the comment earlier.

    Really the beauty of earth cannot be described in word.It exists with persons just like you maintaining the culture of our social bond with the inter-relationship among the people. Distance does not create a problem among the friendship. Your article has enlightened me to lead a disciplined life style.

    Your words surprisingly attract me towords Shirdi Sai Baba. I think, it only happened by the wish of Sri Sai Baba and your hard work. After a brief discussion with you relating GOD, it seemed to me a miracle! Your description seems to be really a description of a Sanyasi or Prabachaka.

    From Mr.M.S.Mahunta, I knew that the post of C.D.M.O. is a hard job; still you enjoyed it smoothly that great. I think your discussion with me in the manner of a school teacher guided me to operate the computer as well as to seek the path of God. Particularly the meeting with you is a memorable day for me. Your encouragement towads writting always reminds me to write on your blog.

    Your blessing has always enlightened for my future. Lastly, I pray Sri Shirdi Sai Baba for your healthy and smooth life. Tomorrow I will go to Harishankar for a picnic with my school students. I will send the photographs of Harishankar.

    Yours obediently,
    Kedarnath Sahu
    Asst.Teacher
    PUPS Budamal
    Sohela,Bargarh
    Odisha.

  12. Janmejaya Samal says:

    Respected Sir,
    Namaskar. Sir,I pray apology before you for my late comment due to my engagement in official as well as home.

    I can not believe myself that you being a retired senior administrative officer in health care services how you have been able to enlighten the people about the God Nrusinghanath and basic benefit of yoga and spirituality.

    Really Sir, when I met you in your last visit to Odisha I was so much happy that I can not express my happiness in words. More so I got some valuable advice regarding disposing of official works and home work. Sir, it is my prayer before the God to let you live long and continue in your aim.

    Om Sai Ram
    Janmejaya Samal
    Senior Clerk,
    Office of the Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh (ODISHA)

  13. Somabanta Sahu says:

    Respected Sir,
    Hearty congratulation to you from the core of my heart. I acknowledged all about your trip to motherland. I pay my gratitude to you for your dedication to yoga and spirituality and its significance for the modern people.

    I couldn’t meet you on 17th November 2011 at Padampur as I was in my school.

    Thanking you sir,
    Yours truly,
    Somabanta Sahu,PRT
    Kendriya Vidyalaya,Khammam,Hyderabad Region A.P.

  14. Nikhilesh Panda says:

    Respected Badabapa,
    I am sorry to post my comment so late.

    Your excellent advice on yoga n spirituality and career building is sufficient to achieve the goal in one’s own life.

    I request, your annual Odisha trip should be continued as we have an opportunity to see you physically and having a great time with you.

    Thanks Badabapa.

  15. Badsah Alli Khan says:

    its truly nice to meet the people who have an interest in such activity and much enjoying the trip.
    thank u sir.

  16. Dr.Krishna Chandra Sith says:

    Dear Dr. Panda,
    I had the opportunity of meeting you twice at your nephew Rajesh’s residence in Bhubaneswar on your visit to Odisha from November 12, 2011 to November 20, 2011. We had many discussions about our pre- & post-retirement life, present activity, engagement, family matters and especially Yoga & Spirituality.

    I am highly impressed about your progress in practicing Yoga & advising others the benefit of practicing Yoga through a qualified learned Yoga instructor in a well organized Institution & Center. Your keen interest in Sai Spirituality have tempted you to be a regular reader of Scriptures & Texts depicting Wonderful Life & Teachings of “Shirdi Sai Baba” along with devoting time everyday for other spiritual articles & books on theory and practice of spiritual life. You have been successfully reflecting your acquired thoughts in your articles on spirituality.

    I think you are blessed by “Sai Baba” to carry these activities for many times to come.

    With warm wishes,
    Dr.K.C.Sith

Leave a Reply

