Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality

The core values of Sai Spirituality are Shraddha (Faith) and Saburi (Patience). If one is there; other has to be present. If Shraddha is strong, so is Saburi and vice versa. We may not get fruits immediately, today or tomorrow while walking on the path of devotion for which we should not get disappointed. We must take care that our love and trust should not decrease by not getting the desired results early. Our devotion should be strong enough to wait for the right time to get the results. Shraddha is the foundation of the path of devotion and Saburi is the time taken to walk on that path. I had my recent experience relating to Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality.

When my Orissa trip was scheduled in the month of November 2011, almost one month prior to my visit Sri Chandra Kumar Panda, my old colleague working in Office of the Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa, who is a Shirdi Sai devotee requested me to get the book ‘Shri Sai Satcharita’ by Hemadpant adapted and translated in English by N.V.Gunaji , published by Sri Sai Baba Sansthan Trust Shirdi Dist.Ahmednagar Maharashtra India as a referral book for him; which I invariably refer in my articles on Shirdi Sai Baba posted in Yoga and Spirituality. When I desired to get a copy of the book in Office of Sri Sadguru Sainath Seva Samithi managing Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Layout Bangalore, the office assistant told me that the book is out of stock and in spite of placing order for procurement of the books to Sri Sai Baba Sansthan Trust Shirdi almost one month prior to my request, the books are yet to be received and there is no certainty about availability of the book prior to the date of my Orissa trip. One day almost a week before my scheduled departure from Bangalore, I requested the Secretary of Sri Sadguru Sainath Seva Samithi to consider my earnest request, requirement and purpose to procure the book for me by the scheduled date keeping in view of my Shraddha in Sai Spirituality. It so happened that I got the book on November 11, 2011, the last day at Bangalore before leaving for Orissa and I learnt that the book has been specifically procured by the Secretary himself during his visit to Shirdi who has returned to Bangalore the previous day. I had Saburi for almost one month in Sai Spirituality to get the holy book.

During my visit to Office of the Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa on November 14, 2011 during my Orissa trip, I met Sri Chandra Kumar Panda and told him “I had brought the book ‘Shri Sai Satcharita’ for him from Bangalore, but I would like to gift the same to him in his residence on my scheduled visit to his residence at Bargarh on November 19, 2011 on the return leg of my journey”. While I was on my pilgrimage to Nrusinghanath on November 16, 2011, I got a telephonic call from Sri C.K.Panda expressing his non-availability at Bargarh on November 19, 2011 as he has been directed to attend a state level professional training at Bhubaneswar for 2 days on 18th & 19th instant communicated on the day of his phone call. I assured Sri Panda that even if he is not available at Bargarh on scheduled date of my visit fixed earlier, I will visit his home on the scheduled date to hand over the book ‘Shri Sai Satcharita’ brought for him from Bangalore as a gift in his residence. I visited the home of Sri Chandra Kumar Panda at Bargarh on November 19, 2011 and handed over the book ‘Shri Sai Satcharita’ to his wife who was eagerly waiting for my arrival at their home. I was overwhelmed to observe that the wife of Sri C.K.Panda is an ardent Shirdi Sai Baba devotee who acknowledged the receipt of the holy book under the portrait of Shirdi Sai Baba fixed on the wall of the drawing-room of their home with much respect and devotion. There upon I inferred that Srimati and Sri C.K.Panda, both Shirdi Sai devotees had sincere desire to get the holy book ‘Shri Sai Satcharita’ which was fulfilled by their Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality.

Shri Satchidananda Sadguru Sainath Maharaj Ki Jaya.

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda
Shirdi Sai devotee
BTM Layout Bangalore

About drmcpanda

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Qualification:M.B.B.S.,M.D. Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality

  1. Chandra Kumar Panda says:

    Om Shri Sainathaya Namah
    The article Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality is a marvellous article with regard to the deep sense of its word is concerned.

    At the out set I express my hearty gratitude that my feeling and passion regarding obtaining the book and your attempt in procuring the book is closely associated with the article which is well reflected.

    Even till today I did not have the real knowledge on the term ‘Shraddha & Saburi’ which in layman language I was thinking it as Shraddha means- the interest and eagerness and Saburi means-Samastankar or for all. But through your article I could be able to know it as faith and patience. It goes without saying that in order to achieve something in the field of spirituality, one has to devote himself to the fullest of mind ,body and spirit before the Sadguru, the incarnation of the Almighty.You have rightly pointed out in your article that Shraddha means foundation of the path of devotion and Saburi means the time taken on the path, to achieve sarthakata in the field of spirituality.

    It is my good luck that I could be able to get the ‘Shri Sai Satcharita’ in English Edition gifted by you and at the same time it is my misfortune that I couldn’t meet you during the last days of your trip to Odisha. In the long run this much I am to state that every thing, every mortal being,every creature of the creator are performing their feats in the dramatic stage of the world and after the performance is over they ultimately surrender before Him on Whose direction they have taken birth to perform as per the omission and commission of their previous birth. This is Chirantana Satya and all others are transitory.

    Om Shri Sai Charane Pranati.
    Yours Sincerely
    Chandra Kumar Panda
    Bargarh Odisha

    • As per the directives of Shirdi Sai Baba, I had a courtesy visit on February 17, 2014 to the residence of my Sai Baba devotee friend & old colleague Late Chandra Kumar Panda at Bargarh Odisha who expired on June 24, 2013 after being hospitalized for 5 months due to cerebro-vascular stroke at a comparatively younger age during my Odisha trip 2014 ( I had not visited Odisha in 2013 ) and gave moral strength to Ms Panda & her daughter to have Shraddha and Saburi on Sai Baba to fulfill unfulfilled familial desires of Late C K Panda.

  2. Santhosh says:

    Sai Ram Uncle,

    A very wonderful experience and an example of “Shraddha and Saburi”,
    an amazing, really amazing one :), Om Sai Ram.
    Blessed are you and C.K.Panda uncle 🙂

    Thank you,
    Santhosh KV
    VDO/BOSS
    Hewlett Packard India Global Operations,
    Bangalore

  3. Vinod Varma says:

    Thanks Sir, for sharing your experience in Shraddha, very essential element of Bhakti. It is motivating for the rest of us to look up to and aspire for.

  4. Thanks for sharing the experience.
    Spirituality is mainstay in achieving peace & happiness in life.

    It is scientific fact that shraddha or faith is the central pillar for achieving the fruits of any devotion, irrespective of whether we get the result or not.

    Gita says ( and very true scientifically) that we should do our duty, have faith in God and STRICTLY DO NOT BOTHER ABOUT RESULTS.Bothering about result or result based faith is bound to get shaken some day.

    Satisfaction should come from from the ‘ Sincerely done duty’ & that should be all.

  5. Prakash Padhan says:

    I am happy to read your experiences.
    I think Shraddha & Saburi are two sides of a single coin.
    Thank You.

  6. V.Nageswar Rao says:

    Dear Sir,
    Namaskar.

    Thanks a lot to make me aware about the accurate meaning of the two core values of Sai Spirituality those are Shraddha (Faith) and Saburi (Patience). It’s great to know that, if one is there ( Shraddha), then the other (Saburi) has to be present. If Shraddha is strong, so is Saburi and vice versa.

    It’s also very much clear to know that one should be strong enough to wait for the right time to get the results. Shraddha is the foundation of the path of devotion and Saburi is the time taken to walk on that path.

    You have also rightly identified both Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality practically in the minds of Mrs.& Mr. Chandra Kumar Panda which is Great.

    Shri Satchidananda Sadguru Sainath Maharaj Ki Jaya.
    Mr. V.Nageswar Rao

  7. Kedarnath Sahu says:

    Sir,
    Namaskar.

    Bhakti me Shakti hai. Really Sir, this article clearly describes that Spirituality is the key of peace & happiness in life. I think patience is the ultimate key for success in life which is only sustained by faith.

    I have got a book of Shri Sai Satcharita in Oriya version.
    Kedarnath Sahu
    Teacher, Sohela Bargarh

  8. Madhusudan Mahunta says:

    Dear Sir,
    Pranam.

    I am very happy to go through your article deeply. Really you are finding the real philosophy of human life. Shraddha & Saburi are two main aspects of human life.

    My earnest request for searching of real meaning of life.
    Thanking you
    Madhusudan Mahunta
    Retd.Block Extension Educator
    Community Health Centre, Sohela Bargarh

  9. Cecila Bowdler says:

    Merely wanna input that you have a very nice website; I enjoy the style and design it actually stands out.

    Well illustrated about Shraddha and Saburi !

  10. Dr.Krishna Chandra Sith, M.D. says:

    Dear Dr.Panda,
    Genuine faith (Shraddha) with sincerity is always being rewarded by God in the course of time when a devotee walks in the path of devotion steadily without being disappointed for not getting the early results bothering about the time factor for achieving the result.

    Very nice reading about your experience for collecting the book “Shri Sai Satcharita” from the office of Sri Sadguru Sainath Seva Samithi managing Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Ananda Ashram BTM Layout Bangalore.

    With Regards
    Dr.K.C.Sith

  11. Santhosh says:

    We will get into a bus, take a tkt to the destination and sometimes, if the destination is far, we even sleep in the bus. Well, now think do you know who the driver is, have u seen him. But still you believe that he’ll take you to the destination, right ?! Then why should one doubt Sai won’t help when they have trust in him? When we believe the unknown driver and get into the bus believing that we’ll reach safely, then believe this also that Sai will help us at any cost in the life to reach the destination called Moksha :).

    Dear all, believe Sai, don’t worry, be happy :). Again I tell we r the happiest :).

    Om Sai Ram 🙂

    Santhosh KV
    VDO/BOSS
    Hewlett Packard India Global Operations,
    Bangalore

  12. It is a great pleasure on my part to inform the readers and viewers that the article Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality – Sai Devotee Mahesh has been published in Devotees Experiences with Shirdi Sai Baba on February 13,2012. The same article captioned as Shraddha and Saburi in Sai Spirituality was published on December 12, 2011 in Yoga and Spirituality.

  13. Purnima Panda says:

    Pranam kaka,

    A very nice article with deep meaning.The success will not come in life in one day.Dedication,hard work,patience is the key to success.Likewise in case of spirituality faith and patience is the important aspects. Without these two things one can’t proceed forward. Well said have faith in God and keep patience, you’ll ultimately get the result.

  14. It has been 8 years as on October 14, 2016 since I became Sai Baba devotee on October 14, 2008. During these 8 years I had Darshan of Shirdi Sai Baba in Gurgaon Haryana (N.C.R. Delhi), Bangalore, Bhubaneswar, Bargarh & Padampur Dist. Bargarh in Orissa, Shirdi Dist. Ahmednagar Maharashtra in India and New York, USA. I had my latest Darshan of Shri Sai in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore on occasion of 98th Maha Samadhi Divas of Shirdi Sai observed on October 11, 2016 (Dasara). You may read my article and responses on Spiritual Journey as Shirdi Sai devotee published in blog website of Yoga and Spirituality.

    Maha Samadhi Divas of Shirdi Sai BTM Layout Ashram 2016

    98th Maha Samadhi Day of Sri Shirdi Sai Baba was observed in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore on October 11, 2016(Dasara). I had Darshan of Shri Sai Baba and donated funds towards Annadhana provided to poor, needy persons and devotees on the occasion in addition to donation of funds towards Ashram and Charitable Medical & Dental Clinic Management.

Leave a Reply

