Ignorance through the Prism of Four Yogas

There are four major pathways or Yogas namely Karma yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Jnana yoga and Raja Yoga to attain spiritual knowledge. Each of these Yogas aims at removing ignorance by acquiring knowledge through understanding ignorance in the light of concerned path.

According to Karma Yoga the path of detached action, ignorance means ignorance of the true nature of the agent of work (karta). A Karma Yogi is never attached to action, or the fruits of action, or even to non-action. To have knowledge in this sense, means that one is ever free from all expectations and ego of work done.

According to Bhakti Yoga the path of divine love, ignorance means ignorance of the eternal relationship or oneness between devotee and divine power (God). To have knowledge in this sense, means that one is free from all hatred and enviousness and one is full of sweetness and joy of divine love.

According to Jnana yoga the path of knowledge, ignorance means ignorance of the true nature of the self. To know the Self, one has to overcome the identification of body-mind-ego. To have knowledge in this sense, means that one is ever aware of manifestation of divinity in humanity.

According to Raja Yoga the path of meditation, ignorance means ignorance of the eternal separation of the seer and seen. One should separate the eternal seer from what is experienced or seen. To have knowledge in this sense, means that one has to get rid of all false identifications through the practice of dharana and dhyana.

Dr. Mahesh Chandra Panda


About drmcpanda

Dr. Mahesh Chandra Panda, M.B.B.S.,M.D. Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ignorance through the Prism of Four Yogas

  1. I have referred the topic ‘Ignorance’ and ‘Knowledge’ A Spiritual Seeker`s Perspective published in the monthly journal ‘The Vedanta Kesari’ in its Vol. 102, No.2 in drafting the article ‘Ignorance through the Prism of Four Yogas’.

  2. Dr.Binod Bihari Naik says:

    Ignorance is the reverse of knowledge. Knowledge brings man`s transformation either inward or outward. The former is called spiritual that is acquired by the four types of yogas as described in Veda. The first two such as Karma Yoga and Bhakti Yoga are learned by all under the guidance of Avatar, hence all masses are influenced and called avataric era and those have in flinching faith in God are liberated instantly seen and possible in present yuga. But later two Gyana (Jnana) Yoga and Raja Yoga are analytical which need knowledge and constant guidance of a liberated Guru that now hardly available and even more time and patience and perseverance are needed for an aspirant. The present day is as ‘struggle for existence’. So it is better to follow the first two categories to get self-liberation and help others in the way of liberation .This is called ignorance to vanish and get knowledge through the prism of yoga to be grasped by anybody for own liberation.

    Thanking You
    With Regards
    Your Divine Brother
    Dr.Binod Bihari Naik
    Bargarh, Odisha

  3. Kamalakar Pandit says:

    In Bhakti, we surrender ourselves totally, not only at the body level, but mentally, emotionally and intellectually; we surrender in totality. When there is surrender, our love gets purified. We may surrender to a god, goddess or our chosen spiritual ideal i.e. sadguru in Bhakti Yoga. By surrendering we surrender our obsessions, we lose our individuality and we expand in our consciousness to be one with supreme consciousness.

    Shri Satchidananda Sadguru Sainath Maharaj ki Jaya

  4. Prakash Padhan says:

    I knew about different ignorance of different yoga. Knowledge is the only weapon to cut the ignorance. Ignorance is death and wisdom is life.

  5. Santhosh says:

    Dear Uncle,

    Yet another beautiful article. Thanks a lot for sharing the valuable information on the removal of ignorance through Dharana and Dhyana.

    Thanks a lot
    Thank You,
    Santhosh KV

  6. Kedarnath Sahu says:


    An article which aware us about the four Yoga which are essential for a Human being. It is described briefly about the four important Yoga which can make a man a saint.The adoption of this four yoga though so hard for a common man is highly essential for a peaceful society.

    Kedarnath Sahu
    Sohela, Bargarh Odisha

  7. Madhusudan Mahunta says:


    You have narrated the beautiful description about Four Yoga in your article. All will accept the path. You described the eternal meaning of Four Yoga which is universal truth.Thanking for your valuable article which is praiseworthy and pranidhanajogya.

    Madhusudan Mahunta
    Sohela, Bargarh Odisha

  8. Thanks for referral and lot of love to Snigdha.

    Ignorance is not knowing something. A person has very limited capacity to know while he is ignorant about rest of universe. Somebody (including the so called very knowledgeable Gurus) know very little and that too in his own interactions or readings. All Gods of different sects too in their life time, had a very limited knowledge to be unfolded in their life time. Infinite number of changes and activities are happening every moment in this universe. To confine this whole knowledge in few yogas, too appears to be ignorance. Hence I am entirely ignorant according to all yogas and in every manner. For me Bhakti is submission to God and achieving peace (Mukti) through faith in God, Gyana (wisdom / knowledge) is having information about some aspect of universe, Karma is working your best without unnecessarily worrying about fruits of work. I don’t know what Raja yoga is. Probably it is administration through best of your capabilities.

  9. Purnima Panda says:

    Pranam kaka,

    Each of the path is suited to different temperament or approach to life. All the paths lead to ultimately to the same destination to union with God and the lessons of each of them need to be integrated if true wisdom is attained. To realize God and to be conscious of his grace , we must drive away the clouds of ignorance from our consciousness and the four path of yogas will lead us to this goal.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s