God is my Healer

God is my healer. No matter what my body is telling to me, I trust God to heal me.

I got operated for removal of malignant cancer tumour of right side of my gum with reconstructive surgery on May 13, 2015. On August 14, 2015 my post surgery radiotherapy treatment course was completed. The surgeon says that the convalescence period in such cases lasts 6 months post surgery and 3 months post radiation. Taking consideration both factors, in my case the period extends up to November 14, 2015. Now time has come how much my physical shape, size and function of face return to lead normal life.

Patients’ reporting greater overall religiousness and spirituality report better physical health, greater ability to perform their usual daily tasks after treatment is over. The emotional aspects of religion and spirituality are more strongly associated with positive mental health. Spiritual well-being is associated with less anxiety, depression, or distress.

I have been engaging my time mostly using the social media networking website Facebook and my blog website of Yoga and Spirituality during convalescence period of Illness. As a Yoga Practitioner and Shirdi Sai devotee, on May 21, 2015 through Social Networking in Facebook, I posted about my swelling of right upper gum diagnosed as cancer and that I had radical excision surgery to that effect on May 13, 2015 for information to all my Facebook friends, relatives and family members at large with the message that “Cancer is so limited…it cannot kill the spirit of life”. I got quite a good number of likes and comments for the way I am fighting against cancer with much mental and emotional strength. Since that day, I am regularly posting my posts in Facebook on morning quotes, health magazine, photos of my remarkable events etc. on day to day basis. I am reciting morning prayer, listening spiritual bhajans of Shirdi Sai Baba and reading Shri Sai Teeka in Odia daily in morning, noon and night. Subsequent to publication of my article Power of Faith in Spiritual Life in Yoga and Spirituality on May 1, 2015 before my surgery for cancer, in post-surgery recovery period on June 6, 2015 I have published my article Cancer is so limited…it cannot kill the spirit of life in my blog website of Yoga and Spirituality, on July 1, 2015 the article The Significance and Purpose of Prayer was published followed by my last articles Overcoming Misery due to Illness and Managing Convalescence Period of Illness published on August 1, 2015 and September 1, 2015 respectively in the blog website of Yoga and Spirituality.

I had Sai Darshan in Shri Shirdi Sai Baba Anand Ashram BTM Lay out Bangalore on September 27, 2015 evening during convalescence period of Illness after an interval of more than 4 months of my last Darshan of Shri Sai on May 8, 2015 prior to my surgery. I published the article Sai Darshan during Convalescence Period of Illness on October 1, 2015 in my blog website Yoga and Spirituality, and prayed to Sai Baba for my early recovery and rehabilitation in convalescence period of Illness during post-operative cancer surgery and post-surgery radiotherapy so that I can have his Darshan in Ashram again at short interval.

Troubles are often the tools by which God fashions us for better things. It is said, “Good times alternate with bad times and vice versa”. Let me patiently wait for the bad time of misery due to illness to get over and pray God for good time to come soon.

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda
Bangalore

About drmcpanda

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Qualification:M.B.B.S.,M.D. Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to God is my Healer

  1. Such a nice review of episode of cancer except that I don’t agree with last sentence,”Let me patiently wait for the bad time of misery due to illness to get over and pray God for good time to come soon.” Time is good or bad as per our thoughts. If we don’t have incurable pain, every moment is best moment of life. One has to live & enjoy the present. Never wait for enjoyment. Only enjoy, every moment & episode. If “Cancer is so limited that it can’t dampen spirit of life” then where is the misery. Enjoy the departure of body parts in bits. Enjoy the fight and victory over problems.

  2. Sir,

    Yoga and spiritual life is always advantageous to one. It imparts on positive aspects to one in life that now is reflecting from you. This is called spirit of life. With the base of yoga and devotion to Almighty every desire of wellness of self and surrounding is blossoming with fervour and aroma, is not life to enjoy visibly? Yes, life can be enjoyed visibly. Everything to body and mind is just like clouds obstructing the sun ray to earth. Visible becomes invisible, it is just a phenomenon but how to exist or vanish shows imprint of one’s exercise in life; that you are adopting. But this path is though very easy one thinks to be he doesn’t think of its slippery nature. Hence to tackle and handle one has to take tuition from God. Now you are adhering to the same principle. So no question of fear for body because of better watering and proper manuring to it.This is enjoyment of self and luminous to society.

    With Regards
    Thanking You
    Your Divine Brother
    Dr.Binod Bihari Naik
    Bargarh, Odisha

  3. Prakash Padhan says:

    Respected Sir,

    I read your post. All misery will pass away in course of time. If we are in dawn then we should wait for morning (14th November). In Gita 2nd chapter- Dukhesunudbighnamana sukhesu bigataspruha…..Lord Krishna says one should not worry in misery…I remember film ‘Anand’ in which cancer patient Anand enjoyed his life. Retired Prof Jaydev Dansana visited my Dunguripali home last month,he was remembering you much. I do hope you will recover your health soon because you yourself is a doctor and caring your health properly with deep faith in GOD.

  4. Madhusudan Mahunta says:

    Sir,
    Namaskar.

    I read your article “God is my Healer” where you have described your disease, treatment, yoga and spirituality and Sai Darshan and all activities of your personal life after you suffered from cancer gum. Lastly I came to know that you have completely surrendered to God for cure. Your thinking is 100% correct that in this stage only God can help you.I hope and pray God for your quick recovery.

    Om Sai Ram
    Madhusudan Mahunta
    Sai Devotee
    Sohela,Bargarh Odisha

  5. Purnima Panda says:

    Pranam kaka,

    In this article you have described the experiences of your life which you have gone through for the past six months of illness and recovery is really inspiring. I think that situation in life do not make a person but reveal them ; world is a classroom in which we are gaining certain experiences. We are here to learn how to control our every thoughts and actions into aspiration for God alone. We have to treat all life as aspects of God upon different levels of experience and evolution and work with it, perfect it and become a master of our life experiences. I hope you are strong enough to overcome all the hurdles of your life soon.

  6. Kedarnath Sahu says:

    Sir,
    Namaskar.

    An article which described the reality of life. Life comprises both pain and happiness. The taste of life is less sweet unless there is some obstacle which is managed by the person smoothly. The person is really on top who managed that patiently.

    Sir,I hope for your quick recovery and awaiting at Odisha to meet you in coming year.

    Kedarnath Sahu
    Science Teacher
    Sohela Dist- Bargarh (Odisha)

  7. Dr Krishna Chandra Sith says:

    Dear Dr Panda,

    I am extremely sorry knowing about your gum cancer surgery followed by radiotherapy. I pray before God for your speedy recovery & cure.

    Yours sincerely
    Dr K.C.Sith

  8. V. Nageswara Rao says:

    Dear Sir,
    Namaskar.

    I have gone through your article and you have mentioned each tit and bit from the first day of diagnosed your gum cancer till last day of recovery. You are always a great person with realistic way of describing yourself, surroundings and as well each and every article of your blog – Yoga and Spirituality. As you are completely believing GOD with Yoga and Spirituality and more ever with self-confidence you will be definitely and completely cured from Gum Cancer, nothing to worry Sir.

    Thanks a lot for your phone call day before yesterday night (14th November 2015) to know more about your health and sharing about each other`s life at present.
    Please convey my respects and Pranam to Madam.

    Sri Anantakoti Brahmanda Nayaka Rajadhiraja Yogiraja Sachidananda Sadguru Sainath Maharaj ki Jai.

    Thanking You,
    With Regards,
    Mr.V.Nageswara Rao
    Project Coordinator
    LEPRA Society,Axshya India (NFM) TB Project, Odisha

  9. Salute to u sir..so much to learn from u. I know…u can beat cancer. I believe in you n God also.

  10. Sir, pranam. Hats up to you, your will power, your positivity….

  11. Dhandapani Muthuswamy says:

    Miracles only happen through Divine grace.

  12. I attained one year completion of my post-operative radiotherapy treatment today on August 14, 2016 for cancer of my right gum. Post-operative radiation after effects and periodical complications in swallowing and speech still persist. Let me have patience how the after effects of radiation subside in coming months and year to come and how much my physical shape, size and function of face and mouth return to lead normal life. God is my healer. No matter what my body is telling to me, I trust God to heal me.

  13. After completion of my post surgery radiation for cancer right gum, I had check up CT Scan of Neck and Chest & physical check up and consultation by surgeon at Mazumdar Shaw Cancer Center NH Health City Bangalore on September 20, 2016. Post-operative radiation after effects and periodical complications in swallowing and speech still persist. The good news is that there is no existing cancer lesion in the affected part or recurrence in neck, chest & upper part of abdomen. The not so happy news is that the convalescence period of illness may persist for another one year with advice for next CT Scan check up after 6 months. Let us hope for the best.

  14. Meeting DrBBNaik on December 11, 2016

    Dr Binod Bihari Naik, Surgeon from Bargarh Odisha my Old Colleague-cum-Friend paid a Courtesy Visit to Our House in Our Residential Layout Green Park Regency Sarjapur Road Bangalore on December 11, 2016 .Being a practicing surgeon even after retirement, he had a physical look at the site of operation and went through the check CT scan report last done in September 2016. He was of the opinion that the side effects of post radiation therapy would subside in following days and signs of recovery are quite hopeful.

  15. Cancer Survivor for 2 Years fighting cancer: Post surgery radiation recovery in my ill health had not been satisfactory after radical and reconstructive surgery 2 years back on May 13, 2015 for cancer of right upper gum followed by radiation although there is no existing or recurrent cancer lesion detected in latest CT scan of Head, Neck, Chest and Abdomen. Time will tell whether my health condition will be better or worse-best known to Almighty.

    Fight Cancer

  16. V Chandra Sekhar says:

    Pandaji, namaste.

    I have no hesitation at all in assuring you that your indefatigable fighting spirit will certainly help you tide over the temporary set-back in your health condition and you will be fully fit before long. There are not many people who have the kind of will-power you possess, sir. Wishing you the very best.

    Regards
    Sekhar
    GP1-402 Green Park Regency
    Sarjapur Road Bangalore

  17. Conversation between me (hereafter referred to as drmcpanda) and Sri Benudhar Dash (hereafter referred to as Benu), a native of Bargarh district, my old colleague and friend who has been working for more than 20 years as Pharmacist, District Central Store D. H.H. Bargarh Odisha while chatting in Facebook on occasion of Ganesh Chaturthi Puja on August 25, 2017 sharing joys of my past lifetime achievement in professional & public life amidst misery of my present life health condition.

    Lord Ganesh

    Benu-Sent Image of Lord Ganesh
    drmcpanda-Om Ganeshaya Namah
    Benu-Sir, Namaskar.
    drmcpanda-Thanks for remembering me.
    Benu-Sir, I am remembering you always Sir. Till date we have not found a C.D.M.O. like you. That was the Golden Era of Bargarh district Sir.
    drmcpanda-It is pity on my part that I am living as cancer survivor with complications since 2015 at Bangalore unable to visit Bargarh Odisha to meet you all my old colleagues.
    Benu-Although physically you stay at Bangalore Sir, but you are always present in our heart.
    drmcpanda-Pray Bighnabinashan Lord Ganesh that we meet at least once more at Bargarh in my life time.
    Benu-OK Sir, God bless us to fulfill our get-together.
    drmcpanda-Jay Bighnabinashan Ganesh

Leave a Reply

