Adopting Karma Sanyasa in Retired Life

The Yoga Shastras describe Brahmacharya, Grihastha, Vanaprastha and Sannyasa as four stages of life. The first stage of life is brahmacharya during studentship. In this stage as students we learn, understand and develop the knowledge & skill in order to fulfil our aspirations in future life with security and stability. During 1972 when I became M.B.B.S. doctor my brahmacharya life ended and I entered in to grihastha life. We enter into grihastha or family life in broader sense social life after studentship. We make every possible effort to maintain and nurture the family for which we shoulder the responsibility to lead an acceptable social life utilizing the knowledge & skill we have acquired in student life. When after long 36 years I retired from the post of Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa on February 29, 2008 on attaining the age of superannuation i.e. 60 years, I switched over from grihastha to vanaprastha life on March 1, 2008.

We (I & my wife) relocated to Gurgaon, Haryana (N.C.R. Delhi) on March 30, 2008 to stay with our son working there for better physical, mental and emotional support in our old age after my retirement. On the other hand I had to leave my comfort zone of leading life with friends, relatives and old colleagues in my native place, district and state where I was having a worthy social recognition as a professional doctor amongst the public. Consequent upon my extra-ordinary decision, I had to lead my post retirement life in a completely changed social setup having only company of own family members. The post retirement life became vanaprastha for me from social perspective in my life. I was attracted towards spiritual philosophy of Sadguru Sai Baba in my mental, emotional and intellectual planes; and I became a Shirdi Sai devotee on October 14, 2008 during my stay at Gurgaon. With change to higher job & place by my son after residing in Gurgaon Haryana (N.C.R. Delhi) for about one year, we relocated to Bangalore Karnataka where we are residing at present. During my stay in Bangalore, I resorted to Yoga practices to maintain my physical, mental, emotional and spiritual health; and I became a Yoga practitioner since July 28, 2009. Yoga and Spirituality became ways and means of my post retired life. In the changed circumstances, intuitive thoughts came to my mind that the present global world is connected through Internet via World Wide Web and it will be wise on my part to give something back in innovative and creative way to the society of my native place, district and state; and my country India and World as a whole by complementing and supplementing my post retirement activities of Yoga and Spirituality with my scientific knowledge of medical profession. To work out my ambition, I had to acquire the knowledge and skill of information technology after my retirement at the age of 60 years. I created my own blog Yoga and Spirituality in the website of WordPress.com on May 2, 2010 and I have been publishing articles every month on Yoga and Spirituality since May 2010. I registered my name as a user in social networking website Facebook on June 15, 2011 and I have been posting daily average 2-3 posts on health magazine, inspirational quotes, yoga and spirituality, photos related to functions, festivals, tours and travels in Facebook wall page and groups. Most of my old friends and colleagues with whom I had worked during my service, tech-savvy cousins and relatives have become readers of my blog Yoga and Spirituality and friends in Facebook. Moreover I have been able to create a new circle of friends world-wide through social networking in Facebook. Readers of more than 100 countries throughout World are reading my articles posted in my blog Yoga and Spirituality as documents available for public view through Google and other search engines in Internet. To cover the big gap of distance & time I had been visiting in annual trip to Odisha to meet & interact physically with friends, relatives and old colleagues in my native place, district and state.

My post retired life was going very well and I was very proud of all my achievements until something very unfortunate happened to me. I became ill and my illness was diagnosed to be cancer of right upper gum since April 2015 which was operated on May 13, 2015 followed by radiotherapy completed on August 14, 2015. Cancer survivor of such case need to take care of himself and make sure that he can keep himself as comfortable as possible in day to day life especially when advised not to stress and strain mouth parts by talking much over phone with friends and relatives till structure and function of mouth back to almost normal. Moreover due to the weakness of whole body during convalescence and recovery phase one has to restrict his physical movements, even long distance and time consuming city tour. Under such circumstances, I could not take up my annual trip to my native state Odisha to meet and interact physically with my relatives and friends during 2015-16. Thus after 7 years of eventful retired life from 2008-09 to 2014-15, I had to enter the stage of karma sannyasa during 2015-16.

Having sufficiently expanded and developed our own understanding of spirituality, we enter into the fourth stage of life, sannyasa which is meant for dedicating the qualities and virtues we have acquired towards the growth of humankind and inspiring others to attain inner freedom. Sannyasa is not escaping from life; rather it is running into life with greater wisdom, understanding and perception. This I am doing through Internet in World Wide Web through my own blog Yoga and Spirituality and social networking through Facebook.

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda
Bangalore

About drmcpanda

Dr.Mahesh Chandra Panda Date of Birth:29.02.1948 Qualification:M.B.B.S.,M.D. Retd. (29.02.2008) Chief District Medical Officer Bargarh Orissa India
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Adopting Karma Sanyasa in Retired Life

  1. Thanks for referral. It is an extremely educating, motivating and guiding account of a contemporary life full of challenges. Being a doctor and your cancer detected at early stage, you are in a better position to fight this disease. Life is full of infinite possibilities, limited only by numbers of living beings on this earth. One should enjoy it as a tourist especially when off springs are self sufficient, well settled and caring. Stages of life are so called, because of usual functions coming across every ones’ life almost in that order. But exceptions, too are very frequent in this universe. One should always be happy and you have all the reasons to be happy. All difficulties, challenges or obstacles like disease are lessons to us and others to remain prepared for all eventualities in life. Heaven or hell is the name of real life events, which we come across. If we enjoy everything, God has presented us, we are in heaven. Reverse is true even for a nice life, if our mind perceives it otherwise. Hence congratulations for a nice and happening life. Sanyasa used to be referred to a stage when off springs take up the responsibilities and one can live like a child, offering this world, whatever they can take from us. Very absorbing account indeed. Love to Snigdha.

  2. Prakash Padhan says:

    This is interesting and encouraging life history in brief. Gradually You enjoyed all stages of life successfully.First I met you in office of Lepra India Bargarh (Odisha). You came with Dr Sith at that time.I was happy and impressed with you as you became head of health system of your own district.Once I met you in your CDMO office where you helped me as per your capacity. Now you are in karma sanyasa stage. Despite of severe illness still you are active in social media. You have rightly mentioned Sir-‘Sannyasa is not escaping from life; rather it is running into life’. We always wish for your healthy & long life.

  3. Dr.Binod Bihari Naik says:

    Respected Sir,

    I read your topic Karma Sanyasa reflecting your practical life is really good and important to one who wants to pass and ascend the 4th stratum of life. Actually Karma Yoga is meant for self and family no doubt that contributes to society absolutely comes under Grahasthya category.That’s you have performed perfectly. Probably previous stage of karma ended so far that had been most glorious I remember your 10th position in matriculation at State level. Last stage that is Sanyasa Yoga is also in tempo shows fruitfulness on the race of life. Because the previous stage that is Banaprastha was well maintained and regulated that trimmed you at Personal,National and International level through Yoga and Spirituality due to your constant eyes and vigilant mind to Internet game. Many many thanks for unmatching and untiring endeavour. Those who can understand can plug the ripe fruit and can pick up like you.Thanks again.

    Your Divine Brother
    Dr.Binod Bihari Naik
    Bargarh,Odisha

  4. Purnima Panda says:

    Pranam kaka,

    A great motivational and inspiring article about the lifestyle one should adopt. Lifestyle is the perception of a particular person or entire society towards life and it is the way people live, think and behave. Sanyasa is a form of asceticism marked by renunciation of material desires represented by a state of disinterest and detachment from material life. This article is a perfect reflection of your life. You have performed your duty as a doctor to society, a responsible father to your children and mostly as an author in social websites to inspire all generations through your article very well. Thanks to be such a great person I have in my life.

  5. Kedarnath Sahu says:

    Sir,
    Namaskar.

    A nice autobiography of a person who had experiments in his life about the different stages of a man in the society. To maintain different stages of life is very crucial for a common man. I think only due to the blessing of the Almighty, you have achieved it perfectly in your life by means of Yoga and Spirituality.

    Kedarnath Sahu
    Science Teacher
    Sohela,Bargarh Odisha

  6. Madhusudan Mahunta says:

    Dear Sir,
    Namaskar.

    Your article reflects the history of your life which is very pleasant and nice. You have crossed three stages of life smoothly, sincerely and honestly except Banaprastha to Sanyasa. In your service period you stood by the principle that “Service to Mankind is Service to God”. You have acquired such a smooth and pleasant life only by the blessing of Almighty. I pray to God for your pleasant transition from Banaprastha to Sanyasa.
    In Odia there is a proverb which is reflected in your life i.e.
    Manaba Jibana Nuhain Kebala,
    Barsha Masa Dina Danda,
    Karme Jiyen Nara
    Karma Eka Tara
    Jibanara Mana Danda .

    I loved your autobiography heartily.
    Madhusudan Mahunta
    Sai Deevotee
    Sohela,Bargarh Odisha

  7. Ashok Das says:

    Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.

  8. Dhandapani Muthuswamy says:

    Great transformation in different stages of life.

  9. V Chandra Sekhar says:

    Dr.Pandaji,

    There is a general myth or misconception that “Sanyasa” implies renunciation of worldly & materialistic attachments. Sir, your article very aptly describes Karma sanyasa as getting more involved into the main-stream of life,rather than renunciation & contribute towards betterment of society.

    Regards
    Sekhar

Leave a Reply

